Author Topic: scope and mozilla  (Read 9095 times)

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« on: January 02, 2003, 08:34:29 AM »
I'm using Scope for the first time and really enjoying it.  I'm having a problem in registering the mozilla engine, though, which sort of defeats my reasons for using Scope.  On my computer, mozilla.exe is at C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla.  I've followed the directions re opening a DOS prompt and so on, but it just won't work for me.  My fault, since I don't remember a thing about using dos (it was 14 years ago when I took DOS in school and I never used it after that class).

Anyway, um...help?

Offline Fahim

  • Administrator
  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • http://www.farook.org
scope and mozilla
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2003, 08:43:12 AM »
Just open a DOS window in C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla or open a DOS window and change directories (using the CD command) to C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla and then type in regsvr32 mozctlx.dll and hit ENTER at the command prompt and you should be done.

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2003, 10:14:40 AM »
Fahim, I'm irritating myself!

When I type in "cd C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla" it says invalid directory (there is an underscore between Program and Files, by the way--without the underscore I'm told there are too many parameters).  I've rechecked the path and that is correct, to the capital and non-capped words.  What the heck am I doing wrong?

Offline Tyran

  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Grizzled Guru
    • The Whinery
scope and mozilla
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2003, 08:41:52 PM »
Quote from: Aaron
Fahim, I'm irritating myself!

When I type in "cd C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla" it says invalid directory (there is an underscore between Program and Files, by the way--without the underscore I'm told there are too many parameters).  I've rechecked the path and that is correct, to the capital and non-capped words.  What the heck am I doing wrong?


Am I correct in believing that you're using Win9X or WinMe?  You need to use the 8.3 format for that directory

cd c:\progra~1\mozilla.org\mozilla

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2003, 08:56:53 PM »
Thanks Tyran, that worked, although I'm using Windows 98 SE.  The problem now is that when I type in "regsvr32 mozctlx.dll" I'm told that it's a bad command or file name.  For the record, I'm using Mozilla 1.0-don't know if that makes a difference or not.

Offline Tyran

  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Grizzled Guru
    • The Whinery
scope and mozilla
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2003, 09:08:33 PM »
Quote from: Aaron
Thanks Tyran, that worked, although I'm using Windows 98 SE.  The problem now is that when I type in "regsvr32 mozctlx.dll" I'm told that it's a bad command or file name.  For the record, I'm using Mozilla 1.0-don't know if that makes a difference or not.


Yes, Win98 SE is one of the Win9X operatings systems.

The error you are seeing means that either regsvr32 or mozctlx.dll is missing.  From the Start Menu|Find|Files or Folders option, search for both files and make sure that they exist on your computer.  If they both exist, post back here with the full path to each file.

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2003, 09:38:12 PM »
I didn't know that 98 was win9x.

Anyway, I have a number of copies of regsvr32.  The one that's probably most useful would be this one in C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM

mozctlx.dll is found where it should be, in C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla

Offline Tyran

  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Grizzled Guru
    • The Whinery
scope and mozilla
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2003, 12:48:53 AM »
Quote from: Aaron
I didn't know that 98 was win9x.

Anyway, I have a number of copies of regsvr32.  The one that's probably most useful would be this one in C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM

mozctlx.dll is found where it should be, in C:\Program Files\mozilla.org\Mozilla


try this then

at any command prompt

c:\windows\system\regsvr32 c:\progra~1\mozilla.org\mozilla\mozctlx.dll

Sidenote

Win9X is often used to refer to Win95 and all of its decendants (Win95, Win95B, Win98, Win98 SE and WinME).

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2003, 03:57:43 AM »
Tyran, you are like a god to me!  Thank you very much for your help--mozilla is now on scope.  Now if we could just get fahim to work on some of those fixes...

Thanks again.

Offline Fahim

  • Administrator
  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 663
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • http://www.farook.org
scope and mozilla
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2003, 08:48:19 AM »
I'm glad that Tyran was able to help you out Aaron. Sorry, I've been kinda distracted the last few days due to other things going on around here and yes, a new build of Scope is one of my priorities when I do get back to coding ...

Offline Aaron

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://ca.geocities.com/haight68
scope and mozilla
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2003, 10:11:43 AM »
Fahim, not to worry.  I realize that you have a life outside of coding programs that the rest of us use for free...  :)

Offline Tyran

  • Inferno
  • *****
  • Posts: 252
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Grizzled Guru
    • The Whinery
scope and mozilla
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2003, 10:17:39 AM »
Quote from: Aaron
Tyran, you are like a god to me!  Thank you very much for your help--mozilla is now on scope.  Now if we could just get fahim to work on some of those fixes...

Thanks again.


You're quite welcome but I'm not sure I deserve that much credit.  If what I typed worked then your problem was either a fat-finger error or the full paths forced the correct version of regsvr32 to register the correct version of mozctlx.dll.  Either way, I'm afraid there was very little magic involved in it.  :wink:

Offline brantgurga

  • No flame
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://www.cherokeescouting.org/OtherUnits/Troop545IIN/brant.xhtml
Mozilla ActiveX Control Moved
« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2003, 06:38:52 AM »
Since I am a member of Mozilla QA and closely follow Mozilla, I thought you should be aware of the following:

The ActiveX control is part of the Gecko Runtime Environment.  In current builds and future releases, the Gecko Runtime Environment will be typically located in %CommonProgramFiles%/mozilla.org/GRE.

With the new Mozilla roadmap, Mozilla will, in the future, consist of individual applications and extensions that run through the GRE.  The reason for the GRE is so that these common files can be in a central place for all GRE-based applications no matter what vendor they come from.

If you have any questions regarding this, let me know or check out the Mozilla Website.